A SHEEP OR A DOG…Which are You?

 Mark 7

26 The woman was a Greek, a Syrophenician by nation; and she besought him that he would cast forth the devil out of her daughter.

27 But Jesus said unto her, Let the children first be filled: for it is not meet to take the children’s bread, and to cast it unto the dogs.

John 10

25 Jesus answered them, I told you, and ye believed not: the works that I do in my Father’s name, they bear witness of me.

26 But ye believe not, because ye are not of my sheep, as I said unto you.

27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:

28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

29 My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand.

30 I and my Father are one.

John 10:25-30 sheds more light on Mark 7:26-27. The “Children” mentioned here are the “Sheep” who believe and have accepted Jesus as their LORD and SAVIOR while the “dogs” represent the Unbelievers/Sinners who deny Christ via their words or actions.

John 10:16
And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd.

We’ll note here that Jesus mentioned His other sheep (who are not of the fold then but are now – the born again Christians) which refers to all the other tribes which are still going to believe in HIM after HIS death and resurrection.
I do hope we know that going to church regularly OR being tagged “Christian” doesn’t automatically make one become a member of this FOLD. Note what was said about the members, “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:” (John 10:27).

The “sheep” not only hears but also obeys. The sheep is not a hearer only, he is a DOER of the WORD also. He puts into action what he has heard (or read).

NOTE: The SHEEP and his SHEPHERD communicates, they’re in sync with each other. The SHEEP knows the SHEPHERD and the SHEPHERD knows His SHEEP.
John 10:14
I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine.

Pray for the grace to continually remain a sheep (if you’re one) till HIS coming. And If you’re not a sheep yet, you can be part of the fold now. Just accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior and follow His footsteps.

Shalom!

Leave a Reply

