A Must Read

When I became born again,  my only prayer was ‘Lord,  let me be like Jesus. In every way.’

I wanted to begin with a powerful anointing to do do miracles.  Heal the sick. Give prophesies. See visions. 

But you know where God wanted me to begin?
Humility.

That lesson took us years; him to teach and me learn.  It was hard,  so hard, that I quickly stopped praying for meekness, the kind Moses had. If this was humility, meekness would wreck me. Or so I thought.

I learned humility, but somewhere along the line,  I let people take it from me. 
They asked me,  “Are you Jesus? Are we not Christians like you?”
They said things like,  “You want to take first position in heaven,  abi? Be there, forming.”
For these Christians,  being truly like Christ was considered wrong,  or a way of showing off.

So I chose to forget my hard-learned lesson.
I forgot that ‘God opposes the proud,  but gives grace to the humble.’-James 4:6
I forgot how the humility of the God-King who washed his disciples’  feet, who said the leader MUST be as a servant, wh died amidst mockery, abandonment and disbelief. Even when he had at his disposal scores of angels to disperse, even destroy his enemies.
I forgot he wanted me to be as lowly as child,  if I want to be great in his kingdom.

Because I wanted to be like men, not Christ.
Because I was being tagged as “na you holy pass.”
Because they said I was “holier-than-thou.”

Thankfully, God reminded me once more of the lesson. 
And when I remembered, I told myself something, something so I won’t ever forget again.
Eketi, you are nothing,  except that which God has made,  allowed and given grace for. You hear me? Nothing.
Eketi, you’re the righteousness of Christ. Be that righteousness, whether it’s popular or not.

So, dear friend,
If my being humble annoys you,  please take it up with my Father.  If you believe I’m faking being a good girl, take it up with Yahweh. He’s the one constantly moulding me into a good woman. I will not deny his work in my life.
If only you knew how much of me he’s stripped away,  until we got to this person you see.  And there’s more stripping to be done.
If you believe I’m holier than you are,  brother, sister, no vex.

When I became born again,  my only prayer was ‘Lord,  let me be like Jesus. In every way.’

I wanted to begin with a powerful anointing to do do miracles.  Heal the sick. Give prophesies. See visions. 

But you know where God wanted me to begin?
Humility.

That lesson took us years; him to teach and me learn.  It was hard,  so hard, that I quickly stopped praying for meekness, the kind Moses had. If this was humility, meekness would wreck me. Or so I thought.

I learned humility, but somewhere along the line,  I let people take it from me. 
They asked me,  “Are you Jesus? Are we not Christians like you?”
They said things like,  “You want to take first position in heaven,  abi? Be there, forming.”
For these Christians,  being truly like Christ was considered wrong,  or a way of showing off.

So I chose to forget my hard-learned lesson.
I forgot that ‘God opposes the proud,  but gives grace to the humble.’-James 4:6
I forgot how the humility of the God-King who washed his disciples’  feet, who said the leader MUST be as a servant, wh died amidst mockery, abandonment and disbelief. Even when he had at his disposal scores of angels to disperse, even destroy his enemies.
I forgot he wanted me to be as lowly as child,  if I want to be great in his kingdom.

Because I wanted to be like men, not Christ.
Because I was being tagged as “na you holy pass.”
Because they said I was “holier-than-thou.”

Thankfully, God reminded me once more of the lesson. 
And when I remembered, I told myself something, something so I won’t ever forget again.
Eketi, you are nothing,  except that which God has made,  allowed and given grace for. You hear me? Nothing.
Eketi, you’re the righteousness of Christ. Be that righteousness, whether it’s popular or not.

So, dear friend,
If my being humble annoys you,  please take it up with my Father.  If you believe I’m faking being a good girl, take it up with Yahweh. He’s the one constantly moulding me into a good woman. I will not deny His work in my life.
If only you knew how much of me He’s stripped away,  until we got to this person you see.  And there’s more stripping to be done.
If you believe I’m holier than you are,  brother, sister, no vex.

See,  in this heavenly race,  overtaking is allowed. You’re free to holy pass me too….because na ahead ahead we dey go.
In fact,  holy sotey, e go pain me.  Me sef,  I go come fight make I holy pass you again.

Dear friend, I’d also like you to know this:
I don’t put up fake modesty.
If you say,  “Eketi,  you’re beautiful,” I’ll say, ‘Yes, I am. Thank you.”
It’s not pride– it’s a fact. I fine die!
It doesn’t mean that I don’t acknowledge that there are prettier, more beautiful women than me.
I’m simply repping Baba’s handiwork.

***********

These days,  it bothers me a lot when I meet Christians who believe that any rebuke or caution from another Christian is judgement.
It’s kinda like years ago, when I had an anger management problem. Every time someone brought it up,  I blew a gasket. I was developing high BP because I didn’t want to face the truth.

Someone says, “Brother, you’re going the wrong way”  and your first reaction is “Don’t judge me,  we’re all sinners.” Then you fling Matthew 7:1 in their face. Judge not,  that you won’t be judged. 

Excuse me,  ma’am,  sir,  we’re not all sinners. I’m not,  at least. I’ve been redeemed and I’m saved.

Plus, you conveniently forget the 2nd and 3rd verse of that chapter. It says,  “First remove the log in your eye,  THEN YOU SEE CLEARLY to remove the log in your brother’s eye.”

I’m like,  shouldn’t your first reaction be to check yourself? To see if the other party is right?
Shouldn’t you give room that there’s no log in his eyes and if there used to be,  that he’s removed it and now sees clearly?

And this class is in a hurry to cry judgement because  when they say ‘Don’t judge’, they usually mean ‘Don’t tell me the truth,  I don’t want to hear it. I want to do whatever I like.’

For this class of people,  my favourite reference is 1 Corinthians 5:12, “What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside?’
So you see, especially in church,  there should be judgment.

So,  dear friend,
I will tell you the truth.
Being a Christian isn’t a piece of cake. It’s a long, beautiful and tough walk; one you must do every day.
It’s even made harder by the many deceivers posing as Christians and the doctrines we have which oppose scriptures or seek to be superior to them.
So if you’re blessed with people who care enough to tell you you’re towing the wrong path, search yourself first. Search the scriptures. Ask the Holy Spirit to show you if you’re on the right track. If he says yes,  carry on.
Just don’t let your first reaction be a defensive one.
Rather,  listen,  learn,  grow.

~ Eketi Edima Ette.

Shalom!!!
image

Leave a Reply

