​The heathen keep their idols, but God keeps His people.

Israel as a nation was chosen. Other nations were not, and they chose their gods, patronizing Baal, Ashteroth, Molech or Ahmun. But Yahweh chose Israel, they did not choose Him. Israel was the people of God and belonged to Him. Other gods were the gods of nations and belonged to them, but they did not belong to their gods.



This is fact. It became living truth through Jesus Christ. It is a hallmark of truth. Jesus said, “You did not choose Me, but I chose you” (John 15:16). He first loved us, and set His love upon us. We belong to Him when He calls us, and when we believe. Christ said:

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me. And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand. My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of My Father’s hand . (John 10:27-29)


The heathen keep their idols, but God keeps His people. Isaiah talks about the heathen carrying their idols, but quotes the Lord as saying, “even to gray hairs I will carry you” (Isaiah 46:4). “Safe in the arms of Jesus…” Be blessed today.

 

~ REINHARD BONNKE.

Leave a Reply

